Tuesday, April 04, 2006

Political Box Score:

With the new baseball season upon us, lets take a look at a different kind of box score, the one that shows how our representatives vote.

On March 30th Congress passed H.R. 609 to amend and extend the Higher Education Act of 1965. The bill passed 221 to 199 with 12 no votes.

The purpose behind the bill was to:

Provide extra Pell Grant aid for high-achieving first and second-year students.

Provide year-round Pell Grant aid for students attending school throughout the year, and encourage students to make progress toward degree completion.

Simplify the financial aid process for needy students and families.

Strengthen minority serving institutions.

Improve repayment options for borrowers having trouble.

Remove barriers that may prevent home-schooled students from pursuing higher education.

Strengthen international and foreign language studies programs for the post-9/11 era.

Expand loan relief for nurses, educators, and other professionals in areas of national need.

Strengthen U.S. competitiveness through math and science programs.

And more…

So how did our New York Congressman Vote?

Democrats: 1 Yea, 18 Nay, 1 No Vote

Republicans: 9 Yea

Here is the breakdown per district. If you’re not happy with how your Rep voted let them know.

• Rep. Gary Ackerman (D-5) N
• Rep. Tim Bishop (D-1) N
• Rep. Sherwood Boehlert (R-24) Y
• Rep. Joseph Crowley (D-7) N
• Rep. Eliot Engel (D-17) N
• Rep. Vito Fossella (R-13) Y
• Rep. Brian Higgins (D-27) N
• Rep. Maurice Hinchey (D-22) N
• Rep. Steve Israel (D-2) N
• Rep. Sue Kelly (R-19) Y
• Rep. Peter King (R-3) Y
• Rep. Randy Kuhl (R-29) Y
• Rep. Nita Lowey (D-18) N
• Rep. Carolyn Maloney (D-14) N
• Rep. Carolyn McCarthy (D-4) N
• Rep. John McHugh (R-23) Y
• Rep. Michael McNulty (D-21) N
• Rep. Gregory Meeks (D-6) NV
• Rep. Jerrold Nadler (D-8) N
• Rep. Major Owens (D-11) Y
• Rep. Charles Rangel (D-15) N
• Rep. Thomas Reynolds (R-26) Y
• Rep. Jose Serrano (D-16) N
• Rep. Louise McIntosh Slaughter (D-28) N
• Rep. John Sweeney (R-20) Y
• Rep. Edolphus Towns (D-10) N
• Rep. Nydia Velazquez (D-12) N
• Rep. James Walsh (R-25) Y
• Rep. Anthony Weiner (D-9) N

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home