Friday, July 13, 2007

Another Great Annual Dinner!

Our 95th Annual Dinner was a smashing success. One hundred guests braved the torrential downpour to make it to the Union Square Ballroom (some of us even sacrificed hair and makeup to the elements).

Conservative talk-radio host Andrew Wilkow, host of ‘The Wilkow Majority’ on Sirius Satellite Radio, was a very entertaining Master of Ceremonies.

Joseph L. Forstadt, Esq., was the Recipient of the Herbert Brownell Lifetime Achievement Award, for his ervice to the city of New York and the Republican cause throughout his career. Upon accepting the award, Mr. Forstadt spoke to the YRs about his tenure with the club – it’s always interesting to hear about what the club was like in past years.

Andy K. Shenoy, a former advisor to Governor Pataki, was presented with the Nelson Rockefeller Award, which goes to a Republican who is a steadfast supporter of the Young Republicans. He has worked diligently to strengthen business ties between New York and India.

Alanna Crawford was awarded the Sharon S. Thompson award, in recognition of her contributions to the NYYRC’s Community Outreach efforts. Alanna has worked very hard to recognize those that put there lives at risk to serve others and can frequently be seen at the end of meetings collecting goodies and having members sign cards to send to troops serving in Iraq and Afghanistan.

Sharlene Santercole earned her second Stanley Isaacs Award, Wednesday evening. The Stanley Isaacs Award goes to the YR that has contributed the most to the club over the past year. It was an easy decision this year – Sharlene spent much of her spare time over the last two years not only filling the very time-consuming post of Membership Chair (most of the time without any co- or vice-chairs), but also helping out anywhere else she was needed.

Also, President Emeritus Rick Brownell was passed the giant gavel given to all past Presidents to recognize their service to the club.

It seemed to me that everyone had a great time, and I know that I had a lot of fun. (4 hours of open bar!) For those of you who weren’t able to make it, you missed a really great event and should definitely try to make it next year.

Thank you to Sharlene, Kristin and the rest of the Dinner Committee for organizing an excellent event!

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home